18 - 24 November 2019

Davis Cup

La Caja Mágica, Madrid

Davis Cup – 18 - 24 November 2019

Davis Cup Explained

  • Davis Cup logo

The Davis Cup is an international tennis event offering players from around the world to represent their country.  It is the largest annual international team competition in world sport and was founded in 1900 by Dwight Davis.

What is the Davis Cup format?

From 2019, the Davis Cup will undertake a new format which involves ties played in February, April, September and November. 

February April September November

24 teams play in home and away ties. 

12 winning teams qualify for the final in November.

Losing teams are relegated to Group I.

Group II - IV ties* Group I - IV ties*

Davis Cup Finals played over four days.

Teams will include: 4 teams from previous year's semi-finals, 12 qualifying teams from February and 2 wild cards

*Group II - IV ties can be played in April or September but Group I must be played in September.

The new format will involve a qualifying round in February, in which 24 teams will take part in home and away matches – a key element of the Davis Cup’s heritage. The 12 winners will secure a direct place into the final and will join the four semifinalists of the previous year – who qualify without having to play in February – and two wildcards that will be announced before the draw for the qualifying round.

For more information, watch the animation below and visit the ITF website for FAQs.

Davis Cup Finals

The Davis Cup Finals will be held in a round robin format from Monday 18 November to Thursday 24 November in Madrid, with the countries divided into six groups and each qualifying round consisting of three matches – two singles and one doubles – of best-of-three sets.

The first placed teams from each group and the two best runners-up will reach the quarter-finals on Friday, while Saturday and Sunday will host the semi-finals and the final.

Schedule of Play

Great Britain has been drawn in Group E and will play their group ties on:

  • Wednesday 20 November: Session 1 on Stadium 3 vs the Netherlands
  • Thursday 21 November: Session 1 on Stadium 3 vs Kazakhstan

Each tie will consist of two singles matches and one doubles match.

Visit the Davis Cup website for the full schedule of the Madrid Finals 2019.

GB and Davis Cup 

Great Britain have won the Davis Cup a total of ten times since it started in 1900, the most recent historic victory coming in November 2015 against Belgium.